top of page
  • Writer's pictureAlien Pub

Missing Out

By Rebecca McLaren


the glass is half full

it is also half empty

I feel like I’m missing

and I’m missing something terribly


missing?

but I did not lose something!

although in gaining years

I’ve definitely lost something


not lost I guess!

just missing

maybe?

but maybe more than half empty…


I’m trying to change that!

see?

that’s why I’m looking!

help me

help me

help me look!


can’t you see what I’m missing?


missing something I never had!

missing something I never held!

missing something, terribly!

help me!

hold me!

hold me so I don’t go missing!


crash through every corner of my skull

it’s not a fossil

I’m not rotting

not missing

maybe

but maybe more than half missing…


it’s missing!

it’s missing, and I need it!

I want to feel it!

all over my skin!


I’m being greedy

but it’s missing

I know I’m greedy

but I need it


find it for me

give it to me

hold it for me

don’t let me go missing!


maybe…


Rebecca McLaren is a spunky and spirited individual who loves to challenge herself, confuse other people, and use slang words ironically. She finished 2 years of the Media, Information, & Technoculture program at Western University and is now pursuing her HBA at the Ivey School of Business. Her written work has been published in Openwide Zine, Rally Zine, Moon Zine, and Synapse Zine. One day, she hopes to combine her passions of media, business, and social justice by starting an advertising agency for non-profit organizations. She can be found online on instagram, or by checking out her portfolio.

86 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Detox

By Silas my mind is haunted like a graveyard. my heart is where i laid my kindness to rest. there is a demon inside my mind. it poisons me from inside killing me softly, slowly. it tells me that i am

The Woman

By Bob MacKenzie it begins with a room pale red and cool blue light scattered silhouettes at tables soft saxotones wafting through cigarette smoke and casual conversation at the bar a splash of light

Denouement

By Alana Saltz I’m enthralled as I watch a beautiful actor scribble symptoms in notebooks and cry when the pain is too strong and see doctors who seem to know a little too much about what’s happening,

bottom of page